Recognizing Excellence in Ontario’s Heritage Community 


In 1967, the Ontario Historical Society (OHS) established an awards programme to recognize individuals, organizations, corporations and authors who have made significant contributions to the preservation and promotion of Ontario’s history and heritage.  

Dr. Ian Radforth, Chair of the Honours and Awards Committee of The Ontario Historical Society, is pleased to announce the recipients for 2014:

Award group photo shoulder to shoulder

Awards for Service

Scadding Award of Excellence: The North York Historical Society
Outstanding contribution to the field of history by a historical society or heritage group
Press release  
Museum Award of Excellence in Community Programming:  Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre
Outstanding community programming and involvement by a non-profit public museum
Press release  
Russell K. Cooper Award: Gore Bay Museum
Excellence in programming and site development by a living history or heritage-based museum
Award citation  
Dorothy Duncan Award: Coldwater Canadiana Heritage Museum
Outstanding service by a non-profit organization
Press release  
Cruikshank Medal: Ron Stagg, Toronto
Volunteers performing with distinction on behalf of The Ontario Historical Society
Press release  
Carnochan Award: Athol Hart, Newmarket
Les MacKinnon, Grey County
Outstanding volunteerism and many years of service to Ontario's heritage community
Press release  
President's Award: Ontario Heritage Fairs Association
Excellence in heritage conservation by a corporation, business or executive
Press release  
Awards for Authors  
Fred Landon Award: Jennifer L. Bonnell
Reclaiming the Don: An Environmental History of Toronto's Don River Valley
Best book on regional or local history in Ontario
Press release  
Alison Prentice Award: Crystal Sissons
Queen of the Hurricanes: The Fearless Elsie MacGill
Best book on women's history in Ontario
Press release  
J. J. Talman Award: Christopher Armstrong
Making Toronto Modern: Architecture and Design, 1895-1975
Best book on social, economic, political, or cultural history in Ontario
Press release  
Donald Grant Creighton Award: Edmund Metatawabin
Up Ghost River: A Chief's Journey Through the Turbulent Waters of Native History
Best book of biography or autobiography highlighting life in Ontario, past or present
Award citation  
Huguenot Society of Canada Award: Pearl Eliadis
Speaking Out on Human Rights: Debating Canada's Human Rights System
Best book or article bringing awareness to the principles of freedom of conscience and thought
Press release  




34 Parkview Avenue
Willowdale, Ontario, M2N 3Y2

P. 416-226-9011 | F. 416-226-2740

Toll-free: 1-866-955-2755
E.  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Make a donation in
support of the
Ontario Historical