Awards for Individual Merit 

Cruikshank Gold Medal
Presented on rare occasions to individuals who have performed with distinction on behalf of the OHS.

Carnochan Award
Presented to an individual who has contributed many years of service to the heritage community.

Awards for Outstanding Service

President's Award
Honouring a corporation, business or individual that has contributed to heritage conservation in the recent past.

Scadding Award of ExcellenceAwarded to a historical society or heritage group that has made an outstanding contribution to the field of history.

Museum Award of Excellence in Community Programming
Awarded to a non-profit public museum in Ontario showing excellence in community involvement and programming. Must be nominated by a third party.

The Russell K. Cooper Living History Site or Heritage-Based Museum Award
Awarded to a living history museum, or a museum that delivers heritage-based programming, showing excellence in programming, ingenious problem solving, or site development.

Dorothy Duncan Award
Awarded to a non-profit organization which must be nominated by a First Nations Council or a Municipal Council for outstanding service to its region. A cash award accompanies the certificate.

B. Napier Simpson Jr. Award of Merit
Awarded to a municipal heritage committee in Ontario for special contributions to heritage conservation in its municipality in the recent past.

Cemetery Preservation Award

Awarded to an individual or a not-for-profit heritage organization for having demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the preservation and protection of cemeteries in Ontario.

Awards for Authors

Joseph Brant Award
Honouring the best book on multicultural history in Ontario, published in the past three years.

Fred Landon Award
Honouring the best book on local or regional history in Ontario, published in the past three years.

Alison Prentice Award
Honouring the best book on women's history in Ontario, published in the past three years.

J.J. Talman Award
Honouring the best book on Ontario's social, economic, political or cultural history, published in the past three years.

Riddell Award
Honouring  the best article on Ontario's history, published during the Award year.

Donald Grant Creighton Award
Honouring the best book of biography or autobiography highlighting life in Ontario, past or present, published within the past three years.

Huguenot Society of Canada Award
Honouring the best book or substantial article published in Ontario in the past three years which has brought public awareness to the principles of freedom of conscience and freedom of thought.



34 Parkview Avenue
Willowdale, Ontario, M2N 3Y2

P. 416-226-9011 | F. 416-226-2740

Toll-free: 1-866-955-2755
E.  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Make a donation in
support of the
Ontario Historical